Being Confident of This

Grace for the work-in-progress woman

A Savior Who Never Grows Weary

on June 26, 2013

I’m privileged to attend a women’s bible study on Tuesday mornings most weeks.  We’re currently studying the book of Hebrews in depth, and this week the focus was on the latter part of chapter seven.

In this chapter, the author spends a great deal of space demonstrating why Jesus is the ultimate High Priest, even greater than Melchizedek, who was a pillar of the Hebrew faith. Because Jesus is eternal, He is superior.  Because He is perfect, blameless, He is superior.  Because He continues to intercede on our behalf at the Father’s right hand, He is superior.

Hebrews 7

“23 The former priests, on the one hand, existed in greater numbers because they were prevented by death from continuing, 24 but Jesus, on the other hand, because He continues forever, holds His priesthood permanently. 25 Therefore He is able also to save forever those who draw near to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.

26 For it was fitting for us to have such a high priest, holy, innocent, undefiled, separated from sinners and exalted above the heavens; 27 who does not need daily, like those high priests, to offer up sacrifices, first for His own sins and then for the sins of the people, because this He did once for all when He offered up Himself. 28 For the Law appoints men as high priests who are weak, but the word of the oath, which came after the Law, appoints a Son, made perfect forever.”

When asked to reflect on these verses, the end of verse 25 jumped out at me.  “He always lives to make intercession for them.” That is His purpose at the right hand of the Father, to intercede on my behalf, continuously, for all of eternity.

Did you catch that?  Our risen Savior didn’t just choose us at the cross. He chooses us now; defends us now; redeems us now; intercedes for us now, moment by moment, forever and ever, hallelujah! 

I often grow weary of my children (let’s be honest, now :)). I often grow weary of my husband, of others, and sometimes I even grow weary of my Lord. My love fails.

But His love never fails.  

He never grows weary of being my Savior.

He never grows weary

It wasn’t just a one-time act, that choice to suffer on the cross, that forgiveness of even the most unpardonable sins. He continues to act on my behalf, acts for my forgiveness, over and over again. Today, and the next day, and for all of eternity.

As humans, we cannot even come close to that kind of love!  In fact, even our most sacred vows end with ” til death do us part.” One day we will come to an end, and with that end, our imperfect love will also cease.  We says things like, “I’ll love you forever” but that promise is impossible for us to keep.  And even if we manage to love one another for a lifetime, our love  is full of faults, imperfections, wounds, conditions.

But His love is not our love. He alone can keep the promise of a perfect, forever love.  Our High Priest claims us time and time again. “Father, you see that one right there?  I chose her. I died for her.  Her sin is covered by my blood.  She belongs to us now. I call her beloved.  I love her as she is.”

Oh, the overwhelming grace!  It’s almost painful in its power.  It floods us and we drown in it, dying to self and rising anew.  Rising to bone-deep gratefulness.  Rising to undeserved confidence in our eternal position. Rising to true love.

Grace floods us

If you’re feeling low-down and unworthy today, unloved or under-appreciated, overwhelmed by sin or temptation or trials, or maybe just a little weary of life in general, remember who your Savior is.

He is real.

His love is real.

And it never ceases.

He sits at the right hand of the Father and proclaims, “Covered by my blood, covered by my blood.”

Rise anew, beloved, rise anew.

Jen 🙂

Sharing with: A Little R&R

See the Favorite Link-ups tab on my sidebar to find the other blogs I’ll be linking to.


19 responses to “A Savior Who Never Grows Weary

  1. He NEVER gives up – does He, or grows tired or throws up His hands – wonderful lesson for my morning – the history part of it drives the message home even further:)

    BTW – how do you get the script/font for the Grace Floods Us? love love love it!

    • Another blogger told me to use picmonkey.com and I recently found another site called ribbet.com. They both have a good variety of fonts, textures, overlays/stickers, etc. I think I used ribbet.com for that particular graphic. Thanks for visiting!
      Jen 🙂

  2. Oh Wow! I needed to hear this SO much this morning! I love this, “It floods us and we drown in it, dying to self and rising anew.” Beautiful imagery…it soothes my soul!!

    I love your images too! So beautiful!! 🙂

  3. Mia says:

    Dear Jen
    Truth be told; I often even get weary of myself!! What an assurance and encouragement that our Lord Jesus never gets weary of us!! Actually, when we cannot walk one step further, He picks us up and carries us until we have rested.
    Much love XX
    Mia

  4. Tina says:

    Good stuff here! Thanks so much for stopping by Mommynificent and leaving a comment. It’s good to meet you! I’ve just liked you on facebook so I can keep up with what you’re doing here!
    May you be magnificently blessed today!
    Tina @ Mommynificent

  5. Therena says:

    What a great blog you have here! You are so uplifting! I love it!

  6. Lynne says:

    THANK YOU SOOOOOOOO MUCH FOR YOUR WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT AND THANK GOD FOR HIS GRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM FOREVER ETERNALLY GRATEFUL FOR THE GRACE AND MERCY OF GOD!!!!! (AND I’M GRATEFUL THAT I CAME ACROSS YOUR WEBSITE FOR THE FIRST TIME TODAY…………………JUST WHAT I NEEDED TO READ – FOR SUCH A TIME AS THIS!!!!!) BE ENCOURAGED – AS YOU CONTINUE TO SHARE GOD’S LOVE AND ENCOURAGE OTHERS!!!! 🙂

    • Yes, Lynne, thank God for grace! I’m so thankful that He brought you here today and that you found the encouragement you needed. I am encouraged! Thanks for visiting.
      Jen 🙂

  7. Helene says:

    I feel like I’ve been to worship this morning. Somebody say, “Amen!” Great Post. And thanks for the recommendation on ribbet.com

  8. Wow! I am always blessed when I come visiting!! 🙂 FoThank you so much for linking up with us this weekend at One Sharendipity Place!!
    Sue @TheT2women.com

  9. Barbie says:

    Thank you for encouraging my heart today. I love the thought of drowning in His grace!

    • Me, too, Barbie! I have to admit that the idea came from Ted Dekker’s Circle series. If you haven’t read it and you enjoy fiction, you should! He paints the picture of God’s grace so beautifully in story form.
      Jen 🙂

Leave a comment