Being Confident of This

Grace for the work-in-progress woman

A Blogger’s Prayer

on June 3, 2013

This weekend marked the one month birthday of this blog, Being Confident of This.  It’s a blog I started, but I’ve decided not to call it my blog anymore because it really isn’t.  It’s God’s blog. The reason I say it’s His blog is because He’s done greater things for it in this short time than I could have ever imagined!

I’m happy to tell you that today “Being Confident of This” is being featured on two other blogs! Exciting! 🙂  My cousin, Angie, at http://www.angieknutson.com/ has been a huge help to me in my blogging journey this far.  She has a wealth of knowledge and has been kind enough to share it with me, in spite of her own busy schedule, on multiple occasions.  I really appreciate her support! Tomorrow she’ll be sharing a brand new post from me about how to handle dreary mornings, so stay tuned for that!!

So far, He’s used this blog to reach others, but even more, He’s used it to reach me.  How often do we set out in life to lead others, to teach them, only to realize we are being taught ourselves?  That’s how I feel about this whole blogging experience so far. 🙂

A Blogger's Prayer

So, here’s my prayer as I continue on in this journey:

I see what you did there, God.  I see how you used that post about Mary Moments in a Martha World to remind me that the best thing is spending time with you.  I see how the post about  being a Transformer convicted me to live out truth in love.  I see that the biggest flaw in our Sanity Saving Chore Charts is whether or not we as parents are consistent in our follow-up.

At the same time, Lord, I’m learning that I have to be careful with this blogging thing.  I heard my little boy the other day when he said I was spending too much time on the computer. I know I need to watch how much time I pour into this.  I have to find balance between my time with you and blogging and family and church.  It’s not easy, but I know You’ll help me.  I see now that it’s part of the process, part of that work in progress.

Father, I’m also learning that you just want me to be me and to trust You to give me the words to say.  When I try to create a fabulous post on my own – it flops. 🙂  When I trust You for the message, it soars.  I see how that works, God, and I’m trying to get out of the way so that You can use me.

I am the vine

I also see, Lord, the potential to find my worth in the numbers (now I know what my pastoring husband feels like!).  I don’t want numbers to be a measure of who I am.  I want who I am to be found in You alone.  Help me to be obedient to You in sharing the messages You give without worrying about how many people are visiting today, tomorrow, or the next day.  Help me to remember that the value is in the obedience to You.

Most of all, Lord, I want to remember that it was Your idea to create this blog, not mine!  Like anything else in my life, it ultimately belongs to You.  Help me to surrender that control!  Help me to remember that You can bring an audience all on Your own with no help from me.  I’m simply the vessel.  Make me a humble vessel.

Thank You, Father, for this amazing journey.

In Christ alone,

Jen 🙂

What is God teaching you lately?  If you feel free to share, leave a comment! 🙂

Also linking up at any of these lovely blogs.


24 responses to “A Blogger’s Prayer

  1. Sarah says:

    Delighted to meet you today. I hope you don’t mind if I splash around a bit. This looks like a refreshing place to dip into some serious goodness.

    Also, I would love for you to share this post with other mommas. We have a little link up started. Momma’s sharing our notes, creating a melody. We could use your fave recipes, fun mom moments, encouraging words, the goofy, anything mom. I would be honored to have you join us.

    http://justsarahdawn.blogspot.com/2013/05/momma-notes.html

    Splashin,
    Sarah

  2. This seems to be the theme of the day! Not looking at the numbers but realizing that whatever God has given us He has given it for someone, maybe for a lot of people, maybe for only a few.

    But it isn’t in the numbers, just as in pastoring…whether your husband is just preaching to you and your children or to a building full of sinners, he would still give it everything he had because the Lord had given him the message!

    Thank you for a wonderful post today! Blessings!

  3. Candice says:

    Thanks for stopping by Lilly Through The Valley! Not a day goes by that I am reminded by God that blogging is doing and it’s a blessing to put the words down on paper. Congrats on your one month!

    Candice

  4. Welcome to the Blogahood – it is so nice to meet you. Congratulations on your 1 month anniversary!!!!

  5. It sounds like you are learning a lot as you blog. Happy blogging birthday.

    Fondly,
    Glenda

  6. Angela says:

    I’ve been studying lately on the vine, the vinedresser, pruning, fruits, etc. I love how God works on us as we dedicate ourselves to Him. Blessings~

  7. Cherry says:

    Visiting from Soli Deo Gloria – happy one month birthday for your blog! And may your journey be one of following Him closely as you blog, and live life.

  8. I think many of us will be able to relate to your prayer and your concerns about blogging. It brings me great joy to have a blog too–it grows my own faith and I pray that it encourages others in their faith. But I continually have to struggle with the right balance with it. It’s easy to get caught up in it (it’s also fun!) but I have to intentionally set it aside when it interferes with my in-life ministries.

    Praying for you to continue being blessed and being a blessing with your blog!

  9. Happy Bloggy Birthday! Thank you for linking up at Tending The Home Tuesdays!

  10. Gabrielle says:

    Amen to that! It’s a constant battle to keep our priorities straight, especially with blogging.

  11. Congrats on the one-month anniversary. Blogging is a wonderful way to meet many wonderful people and to learn many helpful things. I truly enjoy blogging!

  12. […] starting with My Monday Morning Confession as it was my first post ever!  You might also read A Blogger’s Prayer to see what I have learned so far from this faith walk […]

Leave a comment